Devotee Qualities

HomeDevotionalDevotee Qualities

In Verses 13-19 of Shrimad Bhagavad Gita, Chapter 12 Lord Krishna describes 39 qualities of His loving devotees who have attained perfection.


Verse 13

Adveshtaa sarva bhootaanaam
Maitrah karun eva cha
Nir-mamo nirahan-kaarah
Sama dukhah sukhah kshamee
He who hates no creature, who is friendly and compassionate to all, who is free from attachment and egoism, balanced in pleasure and pain, and forgiving,
  1. Adveshtaa Sarvabhutanam - No ill-will for any being
  2. Maitrah - Friendly
  3. Karuna - Compassionate to all
  4. Nirmamo - Free from the sense of mineness
  5. Nirhankarah - Free from egoism
  6. Sama Dukhah-Sukhah - Even-minded in pleasure and pain
  7. Kshami – Forgiving

Verse 14

Santushtah satatam yogee
Yataatmaa dridha nishchayah
Mayy arpit mano buddhir
Yo mad bhaktah sa me priyah
Ever content (santushta), steady in meditation, self-controlled (yatatma), possessed of firm (dridh) conviction (nishchaya), with the mind (mano) and intellect (buddhir) dedicated (arpit) to Me, he, My devotee (Bhakta), is dear (priya) to Me.
  1. Santushtah Satatam - Ever-content
  2. Yogi – Ever remains united with God
  3. Yatatma - Self controlled
  4. Dradhanishchayah - Unshakable in determination
  5. Mayyarpitmanobuddhih - Mind and intellect dedicated to Me (God)

Verse 15

Yasmaan no dvijate loko
Lokaan no dvijate cha yah
Harsh aamarsh bhayo dvegair
Mukto yah sa cha me priyah
He by whom the world is not agitated and who cannot be agitated by the world, and who is freed from joy, anger, fear and anxiety-he is dear to Me.
  1. Yasmaannodvijate Lokah – He by whom no being gets agitated
  2. Lokaannodvijate – Who is not agitated by any being
  3. Harsha (Mukt) – Free from joy
  4. Aamarsh (Mukt) – Free from anger
  5. Bhayo (Mukt) – Free from fear
  6. Dveg (Mukt) – Free from perturbation

Verse 16

Ana-pekshah shuchir daksha
Udaa-seeno gata-vyathah
Sarvaa-rambha pari-tyaagee
Yo mad bhaktah sa me priyah
He who is free from wants, pure, expert, unconcerned, and free from pain, renouncing all undertakings or commencements-he who is (thus) devoted to Me, is dear to Me.
  1. Anapekshah – He who has no expectation
  2. Shuchir – Internally and externally pure
  3. Dakshah – Skillful
  4. Udaaseeno – Unconcerned
  5. Gatavyathah – Untroubled
  6. Sarvaarambh Parityaagi – Renouncing all new action for pleasure and prosperity

Verse 17

Yo na hrishyati na dveshti
Na shochati na kangshati
Shubhaa shubh pari-tyaagee
Bhakti-maan yah sa me priyah
He who neither rejoices, nor hates, nor grieves, nor desires, renouncing good and evil, and who is full of devotion, is dear to Me.
  1. Hrishyati – Does not rejoice
  2. Na Dveshti – Does not hate
  3. Na Shochati – Does not grieve
  4. Na Kaankshati – Does not desire
  5. Shubhaashubh Parityaagi – Has renounced attachment and aversion in good and evil deeds

Verse 18

Sam ah shat rau cha mi tre cha
Ta thaa maa na - ap maa na - yo h
Shee to sh na su kh du khe sh u
Sa ma h san ga vi var jit ah
He who is the same(samah) to foe (shatru) and (cha) friend(mitre), and (cha) also (tatha) in honor(maan) and dishonor (apmaan), who is the same (samah) is cold and heat (sheetoshna) and in pleasure (sukh) and pain (dukh), who is free (vivarjit) from attachment (sanga).
  1. Samah shatrau cha mitre cha – Alike to foe and friend
  2. (Samah) Manaapamaana – Alike in honor and dishonor
  3. (Samah) SheetoshNa – Alike in cold and heat 33.
  4. (Samah) Sukh dukheshu – Alike in favorable and unfavorable circumstances
  5. Sangavivarjitah – Free from attachment

Verse 19

Tul ya nin daa s tu tir mau ni
San tush to ye na ke na chi t
Ani ke tah s thi r ma tir
Bha k ti maa n me pri yo na ra h
He to whom censure(nindaa) and praise (stutir) are equal (tulya), who is silent (mauni), content (santushto) with (yena) anything (kenachit), homeless (aniketah), of a steady (sthir) mind (matir), and full of devotion (bhakti maan) -that man (narah) is dear (priyo) to Me.
  1. Tulya ninda stutih – who holds blame and praise equally
  2. Mauni – Silent, i.e. beholds only God in every thought
  3. Santushto yena kenachit – contented with any means of subsistence
  4. Aniketah – no attachment to his abode and body
  5. Sthirmatih – firm in mind